Our story

About the AAD

The vision of the Africa and African Diaspora Conference was conceived by Africans and Africans from the Diaspora who met alongside the World Council of Churches (WCC) Central Committee meetings and firmed up at the Eleventh Assembly of the All Africa Conference of Churches (AACC) held in 2018 in Kigali, Rwanda.

The intention was to deal with the state of people of African descent globally and the racist attitudes against them which was not abating. It was felt that a more systematic approach to ending racism and inequalities which are a result of centuries of enslavement of Africans in the Americas; many years of colonisation and exploitation of Africans, people of African descent, and indigenous and aboriginal peoples; and many other ills.

Although the vision was conceived alongside WCC meetings and the 11th Assembly of the AACC the visionaries recognized that Africans and People of African Descent are culturally and religiously diverse, and have broadened the vision to include participation of all Africans and Africans in the Diaspora irrespective of their cultural, religious, ideological persuasions and nationalities.

The Africa we want

We aim to act as a global representative for the African continent and from all regions in the world where people of African descent are found.

Who is involved

The International Leadership Team (ILT) consists of the initiators of the vision of the Conference and representatives of various regions globally wherever people of African descent are found. The Team is responsible for the Conference in terms of its structure, content, and participants at the Conference. The current leadership consists of the following:

Rev. Dr. Angelique Walker-Smith (USA): Co-Convener
Rev. Frank Chikane (RSA): Co-Convener
Prof. Isabel Apawo-Phiri (WCC)
Rev. Dr. Michael Blair (Canada)
Dr. Cleusa Caldeira (Latin America)
Rev. Dr. Gerard Granado (Caribbean)
Rev. Dr. Sam Kobia (Kenya)
Dr. Selenir Corrêa Conçalves Kronbauer (Latin America)
Dr. Nigusso Legesse (Ethiopia)
Dr. Michael McEachrane (Europe)
Rev. David Montealegre (Latin America)
Bishop Malusi Mpumlwana (SACC)
Rev. Dr. Fidon Mwombeki (AACC)
Dr. Tyrone Pitts (USA)